06 October 2019

The Inauguration ceremony for the 33rd National Junior Athletics Championships 2019 was conducted today. Dr. C. Sylendra Babu IPS and current DGP of Railways (GRP) gave a speech that gave Goosebumps to all the athletes in Ground. IPS officer with a lot of experience delivered words that would serve as a tonic of motivation for all the athletes competing in the event.

Arjuna Awardee and Padma Shri. Shiny Wilson shared her experiences to the athletes presented in the event.  Shiny emphasized on how hard work would change the entire career of an athlete. In addition to it, she stressed the importance of education and how it would help them in their career.

Dr. M P Vijayakumar, Trustee, Bannari Amman College of Engineering, explained the importance of sports in college life and narrated the achievements of the college and emphasized on the benefits of having a larger space for Sports in college.

Mr. B.Saravanan, Managing Director of Bannari Amman Group has honored the occasion with his presence.

Mrs. C. Latha Secretary of Tamil Nadu Athletics Association (TNAA)has played a primary role in conducting this meet. The Secretary of Erode District Athletics Association(EDAA), Mr.Govinda Rajuput his heart and Soul in organizing the meet and bringing in a huge sponsor for this event. A total of 3800 athletes, 300 technical officials and 80 Clubs are taking part in the biggest state meet for junior athletes this year.

J.V.Dharun of Ck School Cuddalore threw the hammer spear to a distance of 48.94m to win the gold in 33rd Tamil Nadu State Junior Athletics Championships held at Bannariammam Institute, Erode. He came very close to erase the state record of 51.59 set in 2006 for U16 Boys Hammer Throw. A.Vishwa of SDAT gave his best to bag the Silver Medal with a distance of 44.26m. Pooragavan of Thiruvallur district threw 39.91m to get the bronze Medal.

M Subhashini of SDAT gave a amazing performance in U16 girls 3000m Race Walk to end up with 17:35.00. S. Krishnaveni gave a very tough competition and got a Silver for her efforts by clocking a time of 17:41.00. Bronze Medal went to S. Keerthika of Tiruppurwith a time of  17:43.00

All the three medallists in 10000m race walk (U18 Boys) gave a very tough competition among themselves to make it an eye catching event for the audience.  Avinash of Nilgris clocked 48:45.00 to win the gold in a very close finish at the end line. Silver Medal went to Kaviyarasan of SDAT and Bronze Medal to M. Krishna of SJ Josephs Sports academy with timings of 48:48.00 and 48:54.00. All of them gave a great start to the competition.

M.Abhinaya Of Kanyakumari leaped to a distance of 5.42m to win the gold in U16 Girls Long Jump. S.N.Lakshnaya of SDAT and Prathiksha Yam of SJ Josephs Sports academy fought tooth and nail to clinch Silver Medal in this Event. Lakshnaya prevailed by just one cm to get silver with 5.30m and Bronze went to Prathiksha with 5.29m.

S.Subhika leaped over the bar of 1.45m to win the first gold medal for host district in U14 Girls High Jump. She was way ahead of the other competitors in her event. P.Iniyarasi Of SDAT got the Silver on the countback as both of them had a distance of 1.30m. E.Sovundarya of Erode Athletic Club got bronze was unlucky to miss out on Silver.


5000M RACE WALK (U16  BOYS) :- 1.S.Yogeshwaran (Thiruvallur) 26:16.00; 2. T.VishnuPriyan (St Joseph’s Sports Academy) 26:32.00; 3. N.KarthiKenyan ( The Nilgris) 26:55.00

3000M RACE WALK (U16 GIRLS) :- 1.T.Brindha (SDAT) 27:51.00; 2. J.Pavithra (Genesis Sports Academy) 27:58.00; 3. J.S.Abirami( St Joseph’s Sports Academy) 29:56.00

HIGH JUMP (U14 BOYS):-1.G.Vishnu Sri ( St Joseph’s Sports Academy) 1.59m; 2.SS PRAMOD (Erode) 1.56m; 3. A.Harish Srinivasan (Velammal) 1.56m

POLE VAULT (U20 GIRLS):-1.V.Kavya (SDAT) 3.10m; 2.U.Krishnaveni (SDAT) 2.70m; 3. R.SUBIKSHA (SDAT) 1.56m

HAMMER THROW (U18 GIRLS):-1.S.Karkuzhali (SDAT) 36.48m; 2.R.Janavi (Kovai Athletics Club) 34.87m; 3.G.Sharani (SDAT) 31.63m

Comments are closed.